## PHYLLIS J. WASHINGTON COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

## Adrea Lawrence, Dean Daniel Lee, Associate Dean

The Phyllis J. Washington College of Education (http://www.coehs.umt.edu/default.php) is comprised of three academic departments:

- · Counseling
- · Educational Leadership
- · Teaching and Learning

The Phyllis J. Washington College of Education is also home to the University of Montana Safe Schools Center, National Natives Children's Trauma Center (NNCTC), The Learning and Belong (LAB) Preschool, and Montana Digital Academy (MTDA).

Mission: The Phyllis J. Washington College of Education shapes professional practices that contribute to the development of human potential. We are individuals in a community of lifelong learners, guided by respect for knowledge, human dignity, and ethical behavior. We work together producing and disseminating knowledge to advance the physical, emotional, and intellectual health of a diverse society.

The College of Education coordinates the University of Montana Professional Education Unit, a unit comprised of initial teacher preparation at the elementary and secondary levels and the advanced preparation of teachers, educational leaders, and school counselors. The Departments of Teaching and Learning, Educational Leadership, and Counseling prepare professionals for careers in education with bachelor, master's, Education Specialist and Doctor of Education programs. These programs are organized to foster the development of learning communities and incorporate three basic themes: integration of knowledge and experience; cooperation among participants; and inclusiveness, caring, and respect for others. The Phyllis J. Washington College of Education at the University of Montana is accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) (http://www.caepnet.org/).

Specific program options within the College of Education are described in the various departmental sections of this catalog.